Assessment Frameworks for TIMSS 2019

Assessment frameworks are designed to identify what should be assessed by a test, and how it should be assessed.

The TIMSS assessment framework is built around two dimensions: content domains and cognitive domains, for both maths and science.  Content domains deal with a particular subject matter, while cognitive domains refer to the type of thinking required for pupils to fully answer a question.

For mathematics, the content domains being assessed are:

Fourth Grade (Fourth Class):

  • Number
  • Geometric Shapes and Measures
  • Data Display

Eighth Grade (Second Year):

  • Number
  • Algebra
  • Geometry
  • Data and Probability

For science, the content domains being assessed are:

Fourth Grade (Fourth Class):

  • Life Science
  • Physical Science
  • Earth Science

Eighth Grade (Second Year):

  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Physics
  • Earth Science

For both mathematics and science, the same cognitive domains are assessed:

  • Knowing
  • Applying
  • Reasoning

The assessment frameworks also provide a basis for the contextual information gathered from other sources, such as the questionnaires completed by pupils, their parents, teachers and school principals.

The full frameworks for maths and science can be accessed here: