Who Implements ICCS?

National Implementation

The Department of Education and Science and the Educational Research Centre are implementing ICCS, with advice being provided by a national advisory committee. Members of this committee are shown below.

  • Tom Healy, Department of Education and Science, Chair
  • Aidan Clifford, CDVEC Curriculum Development Unit
  • Jude Cosgrove, Educational Research Centre
  • Carmel Gallagher, University of Ulster (Northern Ireland co-ordinator for ICCS)
  • Lorraine Gilleece, Educational Research Centre
  • John Hammond, National Council for Curriculum and Assessment (NCCA)
  • Conor Harrison, Civic Social and Political Education (CSPE) Support Team
  • Jerry Jeffers, Education Department, NUI Maynooth
  • Margaret Kelly, Department of Education and Science
  • Kevin McCarthy, Department of Education and Science
  • Patricia McDonagh, National Association of Principals and Deputy Principals (NAPD)
  • Brendan O’Regan, Association of CSPE Teachers
  • Gerry Shiel, Educational Research Centre
  • Roland Tormey, Department of Education and Professional Studies, University of Limerick
  • Anne Whelan, Taskforce on Active Citizenship (to end 2009)

International Implementation

ICCS is a project implemented under the auspices of the Secretariat of the International Association for the Evaluation of Educational Achievement (IEA). The IEA has conducted several other international studies of education, including PIRLS and TIMSS. ICCS is implemented internationally through a Consortium of four institutions led by the Australian Council for Educational Research (ACER). The other three institutions are the National Foundation for Educational Research (NFER, England), the Laboratorio di Pedagogia Sperimentale (LPS, Universita’ Degli Studi, Roma Tre (Italy)) and the IEA Data Processing Centre (DPC, Germany).