Assessment Frameworks

Assessment frameworks are designed to identify what should be assessed by a test, and how it should be assessed.

The TIMSS assessment framework is built around three content domains and three cognitive domains, for both maths and science.  Content domains deal with a particular subject matter, while cognitive domains refer to the type of thinking required for pupils to fully answer a question.

For maths, the three content domains (or topic areas) assessed in TIMSS are:

  • Number
  • Geometric Shapes and Measures
  • Data Display

For science, the three content domains being assessed are:

  • Life Science
  • Physical Science
  • Earth Science

For both maths and science, the same cognitive domains are assessed:

  • Knowing
  • Applying
  • Reasoning

The assessment frameworks also provide a basis for the contextual information gathered from other sources, such as the questionnaires completed by pupils, their parents, teachers and school principals.

The full frameworks for maths and science can be accessed here: